Creating a Gear in Sketchup

I am new to Sketch up, I am looking for a gear plug in, is it still available? Thanks.

Maybe this one? (note the warnings about 3D printing, though).

http://sketchucation.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=414082%23p414082

Thank you, that may be an option.

I had good luck with Doug Herrmann’s plugin (gear.3.rb). I’m not sure where you can download it, so I took the liberty of adding it here: Gear3 (it adds itself to the Draw menu option)

I’ve used it to successfully 3D print complete involute gear trains that work very well:

That seems ideal, as I need to 3d print some odd gear sizes for a locomotive model. Thanks for your trouble.

I’m not sure if it would be applicable to your project, but the output from the Gear3 plugin is perfect for input to the [Spirix][1] surface module. Just name the created group and you can use it to create a helical involute gear:

BTW, the above gear contains 16,526 entities. In general, with 3D printing, you will find that you will need far more polygons than necessary for visual presentations. The vendor I use has a limit of 64MB for the file-size and 1,000,000 for the polygon limit.
[1]: https://sites.google.com/site/spirixcode/code/spirix.rb

I just need basic gears thanks, I have downloaded the plug in, but how do I add this to the draw menu option?

Thanks

The plugin (as is) only works in SketchUp 8. I’ve modified it to work with SketchUp 2013 and add itself to the Plugins menu option (the new one can now be downloaded from the same site). Depending on the release you are using, simply drop the file in the Plugins folder and re-launch SketchUp to load the new addition.

Much better instructions can be found here: http://help.sketchup.com/en/article/38583

I’ll be upgrading SketchUp on my other computer, but it would be nice to know if this works in 2015 as well.