Putting lights into animation

Hello Guys!

I need to render an animation with lights on. Animation runs along the straight line (highway), with lights being not too bright markings on the noise-potection wall, I need to preserve original (as close as possible) Sketchup look, no textures. Night time, light on.
I studied what was discussed here before and I found out this: I need a plug in, for example LightUp for light, CLF camera recorder to record the movie, probably Kerkythea.
Does anybody have experience with this particular case to advise me exactly which plug-ins will help me?

Thank you
Olesya

Iā€™d recommend learning how to use Twilight Render V2 and MSPhysics. With mastery of those two extensions, you can make animations like this.

For tutorials, Iā€™d look on Youtube. A user named TutorialsUp has lots of quality MSPhysics tutorials. To learn Twilight, Iā€™d recommend reading the user manual and looking on the Twilight forums.

2 Likes

Forestr, thank you. This video is great. However, I need to animate a really basic, no texture model. We already have a day time model like this and I need to keep it within set parameters.

Depends on your budget, Keyshot can achieve the SketchUp look with itā€™s toon shaders while also giving you simple but effective animation controls and lights.

Budget is very limited :frowning:
Thanks tho, I will still look at it.

Iā€™d recommend Enscape. Not as expensive as others and great set of video tools. Less complex than other software. Note itā€™s PC only for now. See 5 min effort adding spot lights to street lamps and exporting animation.

1 Like

An alternative approach is to do 100% inside of SketchUp. While not photorealistic at all, it wonā€™t cost you anything and starts to get the point across.

2 Likes

I donā€™t think you can run any plugins in the web version?
You can cheat lighting effects which would also keep the raw sketchup look.