Purchasing Sketchup Pro is an Awful User Experience

Buying Sketchup Pro is a terrible user experience. When I buy a product I expect I can sign in to use it, or that at least it automatically guides me through some obvious steps that then drop me off at the product.

But no, instead here’s what happened. I went to the website and purchased the product; no problem. Then I try to open Sketchup and use it and it says that I’m still on the Sketchup Trial. Ok maybe I just needed to sign out then sign in, no big deal. Nope, that doesn’t fix it. Well that’s already a huge red flag. What kind of company’s main workflow where you purchase their main product is just broken by design?!

I ended up having to contact support for them to point out that I have to go to Plan Settings then assign the product I just purchased to myself. From the perspective of a new user, I would never have expected to need to do this. Why is this not automatic?! I am not some estupido, I used to work as a software engineer for 4 years. The absolute top of frequently asked questions is “how do I sign in?” This process is obviously broken and needs to be changed. Was this that checkbox that I unchecked during the buying process? If so that checkbox REALLY needs a better explanation on it.

I will still use Sketchup as it’s still the most reasonably priced, quite functional product for my needs but please god make the purchase process of Sketchup Pro not horrible.

7 Likes

@kathy_davies

1 Like

@FineArtsCabinets reply is completely off topic, why are you responding to it?

I’m sorry, I may have come across a bit rude. I was just very frustrated by the buying experience and have felt ignored.

1 Like