Problem with manual dimensions

Hello,

I’m new to sketchup, so I tried to use the sketchup web for personal. It is not cheap but it is giving me problems with the manual dimension input. Please help.

What’s the problem that you face with manual dimensions input?

After I pull and placed the rectangle in place, when I type the numbers and press enter, it doesn’t give the right measurement of the dimensions that I wanted. I use feet (‘) or (") separated by a comma. For example, if I want 4’,4’…it ends up with a different measurement like 2’3" by 6’4"…or any number except the 4’ by 4’. I keep making new model and don’t save the error ones but it still keep doing the same thing. Also, if I undo it, when I put new rectangles, the numbers don’t change the dimensions anymore after I press enter. And when I use the push and pull moving up, when I type the number and press enter, it doesn’t change or do anything to the dimension. It only worked everytime I change to a new model but gives wrong dimensions anyway, so, basically, the manual dimension is not working. :frowning:. Sorry for the very long post.

I had the same problem when I first started, but I managed to fix it.
Instead of holding the mouse whilst typing the values in, try clicking the mouse, then type in your the values you want. The same applies to Push/Pull, click then type. I tend to find this issue more problematic when using imperial measurements as typing the " (double ) requires the use of stretching fingers from “shift” to (apostrophe).
I’m sure you know this, but don’t click the values box when you type or else nothing happens.