Playground project

Hello!

Our kid and her little cousins are growing up fast and are in a need of an outdoor activity space in the back yard, so I spent the weekend designing a playground to be built this summer.

On the backside of the climbing wall there would be an activity wall on the first floor and a blackboard wall on the second floor. There is a sandbox and a box for toys on the first floor.

The kids would be age 2-3 by summer so the climbing wall would be kept at an apropriate height for their age.

The build itself would be done by an experienced carpenter, so I did not focus on joinery detail and the foundation.

This is my first time designing anything like this, so comments are welcome. Any obvious safty issues visible?

I’ll keep you guys updated on the project progress.

10 Likes

Lovely idea.

I did just wonder if a kid running out of the house in the second image could get hit by the swing? If it is swinging high, it might not be visible easily from inside.

Cool model - this looks really nice and a carpenter would have no trouble interpreting it.
I love the design too -looks like a lot of fun to play in. Whoever gets the top of the castle is obviously the King or Queen.

A few safety & design comments:

• The swing is quite close to the wall and may hit it. The metal pole also needs to be a safe distance from the swing or have a soft pad covering it. Plastic pipe over the chain will stop little fingers getting caught (and look nicer).
  • Climbing wall needs something soft under it to land on. I guess you’ll have removable grips (with bolts) to adjust the dififculty and set new courses.
    -Good soil drainage under the swings will promote grass growth.
  • I’m not sure how the climbing rope will work. Maybe a rope ladder instead? (one with a ‘wobbly’ mount so it’s challenging to climb). Or a metal pole to slide down. Or a rope to swing on (need more space for this however).