Pivoting a line on one end point

Hey everyone,
Im just starting to learn the free version of sketchup and am having an issue with 2d lines. Ive learned how to draw a line and set it to my desired length, but cant seem to figure out how to pivot one end of the line around one fixed endpoint of the line without altering the length I had set, and need to remain constant. Can anyone help me figure this out? Thanks!

Wyatt

Have you selected the line and then tried using the Rotate tool?

Why exactly are you drawing a line that you will then need to rotate, anyway? I might make more sense to draw it in the desired orientation instead.

Im trying to get two lines of set length to meet. They are both fixed at length and each is set to another line on their opposing sides, so I need to be able to pivot the free end to where they would meet.

How about uploading your model so we can see exactly what you are trying to accomplish. I’d bet there’s a better way to do what you are after.

Where the top line and the line on the right side of the shape meet is what I’m trying to dial in.
I have hard dimensions for the top and right side lines, and have figured out how to make those lines the definite length that I need. Now I’m trying to figure out how I can pivot the two lines on the end where they should meet to find the spot where they will both meet without changing the length of the lines.

So you know the length of the diagonal line but you want it to meet the vertical line on the right?

You could use the Pie tool.

Start with this. You really don’t need the horizontal line shown in blue. You can just art the Pie tool and type in the length of that line as the radius.
Screenshot%20-%208_13_2019%20%2C%209_04_30%20AM

Get the Pie tool and draw the shape so it meets the vertical line.
Screenshot%20-%208_13_2019%20%2C%209_05_13%20AM

You’ll get a face when you do it correctly.
Screenshot%20-%208_13_2019%20%2C%209_05_39%20AM

Erase the unneeded bits.