New(ish) User - Advice on using Rotated Rectangle tool?

Hi

This is my first time on the forum so greetings to everyone here :smile:

I’ve been using the basic tools on Sketchup (2017) for a little while but now I need to do something for the first time using the Rotated Rectangle tool. I’ve played around with it quite a bit and I’ve looked online but I can’t see if there’s a way to do this so I’m hoping some of you good folks might be able to help me out.

How can I draw a rotated rectangle where the width and length are fixed but the angle needs to be set based on the inference engine interesecting a certain plane. Here’s my situation…

1. Draw a rectangle of whatever size parallel to the “ground” (so horizontal) at say 500mm above the “ground”. Like the top of a workbench say.

2. From the side view create a guide line parallel to a horizontal edge of the above rectangle at, say 200mm below it

3. Now the problem… how would I draw a rotated rectangle which…

a. has one edge “attached” to the front face of the 500mm high rectangle
b. has a fixed length and width of 800mm
b. needs it’s lower edge be at whatever angle intersects the guideline (200mm below the 500mm rectangle)

It’s hard to explain in text but if that question makes any sense to anyone can you please help?
It’s got me stumped, but it’s probably obviouse to someone more experienced.

Thanks for any help.

You can split the task into subproblems:

• Draw a rectangle of a specific size
    • Therefore you can use the Rectangle Tool, Rotated Rectangle Tool
    • or the Line Tool!
  • Orient a rectangle in space
    • Use the Rotate Tool
    • Use inferences, guidelines, helper geometry.
1 Like

Hi Aerillius

Thanks for your quick reply and for your recommendation. Would those 2 steps achieve the same goal?