Paint Bucket Tool

Hello to the SU Community! I am trying to use my paint bucket tool and I feel like a dummy. I make a rectangle, then select it, then click on the paint bucket, select a color/texture, back over to the rectangle with the PB brush and viola! Nothing happens. I kind of need this tool to finish a tutorial I am studying. Anyone know why my PB tool won’t work? (Sketchup Pro 2016 is my program. Thankyou in advance.

check that your using ‘Shaded’ or ‘Shaded with Texture’ and not ‘Monochrome’…

john

1 Like

@roborizino These settings are under the View menu > Face Style sub-menu.
Also if you do not wish semi-transaparent, uncheck X-ray (or use the X keyboard shortcut to toggle.)

Thanks Dan…No change. I opened a photo of a barn so I could trace it…But no matter where I make a shape, it will not collor-in.

How about sharing the file, Rob.

Are you using MatchPhoto? If so, the faces will be transparent but this can be adjusted with the sliders in the Styles Edit tab.

Yes I am doing a photo match…Went to styles and co

uldn’t find any slidersw. Here is a screenshot

You can see where nI made a few rectangles, but couldn’t color them in. Thankyou

Sorry wrong screenshot…here is the correct one…THX

Look carefully at my screenshot. The sliders will be available under the Modeling settings.

Or just share the SKP file and I’ll show you how to adjust it.

Hello Dave… I did take a look at your screenshot, and I was able to find the styles menu, however can’t seem to use the opacity sliders.

Could you just post the SKP file or send it in a PM?

Dave…This should be the skp file…Most graphics programs have many things in common but Sketchup is a lone bird…I love it though. Thanks Link below>>>>>>>https://app.box.com/s/fhevfa0oho5bd6uptny7slh2f2n1ixte

Rob,

I’m looking at your file. There don’t appear to be any faces over the barn image to paint. there’s a very large one painted red below the barn.