Openings in Windows and Archways

Hello everyone,

I am a carpenter for a high school theater program.
I am designing a high school theater set with Sketchup. I have 5 archways and 2 windows, and I will be adding doorways to the set.

The back walls where the windows and arches are is very thin only about 4" thick.
I have tried for day to cut the openings out so the windows see right through, and so the arches see right through as well. I am having no luck.

Also, when I go to color in some sections, it will end up coloring in the entire stage, not just the little part I have selected.

What am I doing wrong? I am completely self taught off of youtube videos. Is it possible for someone to be so kind, and help me. I can send the Sketchup file for reference to help.

I look forward to hearing from everyone.
Thank you
-NIck

group your wall so that when you edit/color it that will be confined to that wall and will not affect rest of model.
It’s good practice to group everything. Maybe even make your arch wall a component then when you edit one it will change all of the others. If items are not grouped and there is connected geometry, a triple click will select everything connected making changing elements of size and color difficult.

Assuming you are using the push pull tool to try to cut openings for windows and arches - what result do you get - a 2D surface left at the end of the push-pull action? If so delete the 2D surface to complete the opening.

Coloring specific areas are best completed by first creating components which you want to be of one color (fastest for changing, editing colors).