New user trying to draw U shaped house roof

hi, i am a very new member of this community. also I am very new to Sketchup, I am learning from 0.
after I watched the start up videos part 2, I tried to draw a picture of my own, but it does not work.
on your video, she has drawn a L shaped house, with selected roof lines, she use move tool to pull up the roof, I tried to draw a U shaped house, with selected roof lines, the move tool does not work. can you please tell me why is that and how to draw a U shaped house roof. with many thanks.

Draw an inverted U cross section - located at the start [vertical face].
Select the path you want it to follow [hold Ctrl to add extra edges to the path].
Activate FollowMe and click on the U-shaped profile.
It should extrude along the path.
It its back-faces [blue] show in the extrusion’s surface, then select them and use Reverse in the context-menu…

It is best to post the skp file you are having trouble with as part of your inquiry. This allows the reader community to see what you see when the problem is encountered and makes it easier for others to assist you.

In order to upload your file, click on arrow icon with the bar below it, select the appropriate file and click “Upload”.

Thank you, I need time to digest what you teach me. Much much appreciated.

Thanks, I will try to learn it.

Untitled1.skp (139.7 KB)
I want to draw a U shaped house roof as the tutorial part 2 did her L shaped house. the “move” tool does not work.

Select the middle three edges (the future ridge of the roof) and start moving them. While doing so hit the [ Arrow Up] key once to force movements along the blue axis. … and move the three edges to desired height. Right after the operation you can even just type the height and hit [Enter]. Do not click in the ‘Measurements’ field before typing.

p.s. in your uploaded model you need to fix the “flat projected” ridge positions first, the right side isn’t right ;-), shows some errors.