New to sketchup need some advice on how to create a cove on the cabinet doors

Good morning everyone, I have modeled a simple cabinet carcuss with two raised panel in frame doors. I am trying to draw the cove detail on the door panel. I have tried several times drawing a tangent curve profile to be used with the follow me tool but I have not had any success. I’ve reviewed several online videos on the topic but have not found the exact scenario I’m looking for.

I am new to SketchUp and am currently using a trial download of SketchUp pro 2019.

Attached is the model I’ve created.

Thank you,

Rick

Cabinet carcus with raised panel doors.skp (207.4 KB)

Are you going to be building these doors from scratch or are you only wanting to show them.

Would a live demo help?

If you don’t need to show the individual parts, I would draw a cross section of the door stile and panel with the cove and use Follow Me. around a rectangular path.

You’ve made matters somewhat harder than necessary by drawing the entire pair of doors as a single component. I’d suggest modeling each real-life board as a separate component (with use of instancing and flipping for matching but reversed). That will prevent edges or faces from one board from interfering when you edit another one.

Your model doesn’t include an example of the sort of cove detail you want, but assuming the shape itself isn’t problematic I don’t see why follow-me wouldn’t work.

I see that @DaveR has volunteered a live demo, so you are in good hands!

1 Like

Hi Dave,

At this point i am trying accurately model an existing cabinet. Next step would be to actually build the cabinet and doors. I guess first things first, if I cant draw /model it I wont be able to build it.

I am new to 3D modeling so I may not even be asking the right questions.

Rick

So you probably should be modeling the five separate parts of the door instead of modeling the two doors as one lump of geometry.