New monitor upgrade

In the market for a larger monitor. I currently have a 27" but want to add a 32". Any recommendations for the new, upgraded Sketchup Pro2024? Are 4K and 5K monitors still having “problems”? I also use V-ray for my Renders.

thanks!

What do you mean ?

I’ve been using a 38" 4k curved display for the last 6 years and ZERO problems in any software.

I’m a fan of Dell’s higher end displays. I think it’s the Q series where you start getting great color accuracy and USB powered connections.

Mine’s the Dell U3818DW.

I had been reading about different problems between Sketchup & 4K compatibility, but the posts were a couple years old.

Thanks all! This helps! I am lucky enough to have a boss that will get me what I need!

1 Like

I have never worked with a curved screen before! Do you find it skews your drawing lines toward the edges? (sorry, I am kind of a NON-gamer and have old eyes! LOL)

1 Like

nah. I have a flat 23" and a curved 27", it’s slightly curved, so you don’t really notice.

it’s like reading an open book vs reading a flat sheet of paper. is it more confortable ? Sure, I’m willing to accept that.
can you live without? yeah :slight_smile:

I see no difference between it and my true flat panel at home. In fact I prefer the curved panel. Like I said I’ve had it over 6 years and it’s been great.

Most applications have resolved resolution scaling issues (icon sizes, etc) much better than they did a few years ago. However there are still issues with SketchUp and LayOut if you’re using two screens of differing resolutions /items scale factors. It’s best to stick with 16:9 4k display, as opposed to the less common sizes, but this depends a bit if you’re using other monitors as well (keep them the same, where possible).

For example, LayOut color picker often won’t work properly on the second display, and in SketchUp, some of the tool tray sizes will occupy large areas of screen space and can’t be changed easily.