Model moving around when selecting components

I have a model made up of multiple components. Sometimes when selecting a component the whole model moves to a different location. When selecting another component it moves back again. It seems to be the components with more than one instance that are causing this issue.

It would help if you would share the SketchUp model file. Might be caused by incorrect scaling or by geo-location.

1 Like

I’m new to Sketchup so there might not be anything unusual happening.
letterbox.skp (31.2 KB)

I’m not seeing the model moving around when I select or open components for editing. Is it possible that it’s just the axis display that is giving you that impression? When you open an object (group or component) for editing, the object’s axes are displayed instead of the model axes. To show that the model is staying put I placed guidelines on the model axes. You can see they are remaining in the same place as I go through opening the different components.

select

The axis orientation for some of the components seems kind of strange but I expect it’s due to changes you made to the components after they were created.

One of the odd one, here.

Here I’ve revised your model a bit. Fixed the axes. It does seem like a bit of unneeded nesting but I left that alone.
letterbox revised axes.skp (57.6 KB)

1 Like