Model area more bright than usual

i just re-installed my sketchup pro 2016 to my new device. But i realized that the model area’s view is a bit brighter than before (makes my eyes sores a lot). thankfully, after i exported the model (into 2D), the view is back to normal brightness. Is there a way to fix this?

i’ve tried changing to other styles and changing the shading settings, but no difference. But when I navigate the model, the model view reverts back to normal brightness and then quickly brighten up again.

You can change the color of the background, choose some darker colors and update the style. This is silly but you can also reduce the brightness of your screen.

not only the brightness, but the color contrast of the model area is annoying. Materials that are supposed to look dark is brighten up. That’s why changing only the background and the desktop brightness is not an option for me.

I’ve been using skp 2016 for 4 years and never had this issue before

What ‘device’ was changed? The monitor or the PC?
You might have use a different color profile on the older device.

2 Likes

not exactly changing device, but I reset my PC

Check the shadows settings. I sometimes use it to alter the brightness of a scene.

1 Like

it works. but then the view brighten up again after a sec. But well, it doesn’t affect my workflow that much, so i’ll wait for the solution patiently.

What we are looking at appears to be a change in SketcUp’s display settings.

Change these under Styles > Edit > Sky/Ground. Also try the antialiating settings under Preferences > Open GL, and also under Shadows. I’m guessing your orgiianl sketchup template had been modified slightly with some differnet colours - it’s also possible that the tempalte originated from an earlier version of SketchUp when the colours may have been different. I wonder what they are like now in SketchUp Pro 2022?