Material Pixelation

When applied to this model, native Sketchup materials are completely pixelated. However, within the same file when applied to a cube, materials appear at the proper scale. Any ideas what I can do about this? I’m just learning to use Podium and I want to start out with native Sketchup materials - This pixelation carries over in Podium.

change the image scale in the material properties:

It would be great if we could interrogate the model. Any chance you could share it?

Scaling components or groups also scales their textures. Without the model it is impossible to say if this is the problem.

Anssi

Project3.skp (387.2 KB)

Indeed it is due to scaling the group from a very tiny size.

I know this screenshot doesn’t make a lot of sense, but it shows that some planes show materials properly while others are pixelated. Thank you all for you help.

When I use the original components at their original size, the materials are still pixelated.

It’s because of the way you’ve scaled the groups instead of scaling the geometry inside along with the timing of when you applied the material.

How big are these things really supposed to be?

There is no particular size but very large compared to humans. Based on what you said I exploded everything and tried again, works fine. Thank you for all the help!

One last question if you don’t mind, what do you mean by scaling the geometry inside groups rather than scaling groups?

I think you are confused as to what constitutes “pixelation.” This is where an image is displayed with such low resolution that you can actually discern the individual pixels (picture elements–essentially squares of solid color) making up the image. It is blocky, not blurry as your examples are.

I mention this because using the wrong term in your question can really result in a big disconnect in the response. Please be sure of your language.

Look at these examples of pixelation: Google image search on “pixelation”

-Gully