Making a Solid for 3d Printing

Hey forum,

I am a total noobie so I apologize up front. My neighbor asked if I could 3D print a part for an old car he is restoring as he can’t find a replacement part. Unfortunately, I had to try to design the part and Sketchup was the only tool I could find to do it in. I believe I have the shape correct but it is hollow and for the LIFE of me, I can’t figure out how to make it a solid. Can someone help?

Thanks!

Scott

PS - The object file can be downloaded here: ShareFile

SketchUp is a surface modeler. That is, it portrays the “skin” of a solid, with nothing inside. This is perfectly adequate for 3D printing though. The main thing is to select the object and make sure that SketchUp’s Entity Info window reports it to be a solid.

Edit: I got your file. It has several issues.

First among these is that in SketchUp a solid must be a group or component. Your model is all ungrouped edges and faces.

Once it is made a component, there are some lesser issues to correct. There are some stray edges (ones not needed to define the surface) and some reversed faces. These are easily fixed, at which point the object is reported to be a solid.

Here you go, I oriented the faces, all white on the outside and removed a few stray edges, then made it a group.
No need for a share site for such a small model.
Mitches Part 3-8-21Fixed.skp (206.9 KB)

2 Likes

Mitches Part 3-8-21.skp (166.1 KB)

I did the same things Box did and a little more cleanup.

Wow, I wrote hoping that in a few days someone could point me in the right direction… Never thought someone would respond so quick and be so complete!! Thanks a ton! I will send this to the Makerbot tonight and see how we did!!

3 Likes