Making solids with follow me

Hello I am new to sketchup and I would like to know if it is possible making solid objects while using the follow me tool, when i use the follow me tool around a path with a circle for example, it creates and circular tube but it’s hollow. Is there any way to make it solid?
it is to 3D print

SketchUp is a surface modeler. It has no such thing as what other modeler a call a “solid”. However, SketchUp has the concept of a surface that encloses a volume without holes or extraneous faces or edges. If you make a group or component of such geometry, SketchUp calls it a solid and when you export as stl most 3D printers recognize it as such.

1 Like

thanks for responding
but are you saying it will not print hollow as long as I close the shape and group it?

The 3D printer software will let you choose a “fill factor” when you load the stl model. This is the way all 3D printers work because the material is expensive and fill greatly affects print time.

1 Like

I am new to SketchUp as well. You would think it would be in Sketchup’s interest to have a little documentation available.The videos are fine for a start but you quickly run into having questions that aren’t answered. When you look in the community, everyone seems to be very far advanced and can’t really understand or answer a beginners question…

I was having trouble doing a design when first opening the program. The tools worked fine but I also wanted a solid object but when I tried to take away parts of the drawing it left big holes that I couldn’t figure out how to cover or fill in. I found the best thing for me was to make a block as big as the overall size of the piece I wanted and then make that block a component. The I could shape and prune on it as much as I wanted and still have a “solid” object