Looking for tips for drawing with minimum file sizes

I am using Windows 10 (about one week) and like it so far. Early on it was very slow, but I found a work-around on the internet and that seemed to solve the problem. I use a Lenovo I5 Ideapad (G580 I think) laptop with a stock Intel graphics card. I will be upgrading to an I7 Lenova laptop with a Nvidia grahics card soon. Hopefully, that will be an improvement, but the I5 is working okay for now. My question is: what are the secrets to making files that are as small as possible and still be fully functional. So far, most of my files are about 10 times larger than similar ones that I download on the 3D Warehouse. I’m puzzled by that. I probably don’t have something setup right, but I am still in the dark about that at this time. I’m just getting started with Sketchup, so any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

There are a number of strategies that can help to reduce file size. These are general tips and not specific to an operating system.

Using components, especially when you have repeated entities can be a big help. For example, the model for this pipe clamp has elements split into smaller components. For example, the threads on the screw are divided into small sections as shown by the highlighting. The cast parts of the clamp are divided in half–I drew half of the part, made that a component, copied and flipped to make the opposite side. The file size is 138Kb

On the other hand, after exploding the screw into a single lump of geometry and doing the same for each of the cast parts (jaws and crank), the file size ballooned to 938Kb.

In addition, you can probably reduce the number of segments you use in arcs, circles and other curves. The pipe clamp looks pretty rough in closeup views but when it is viewed in the context for which I drew it, the clamp looks just fine.