Sketch Up running slowly–April 2020

Hello Sketch Up community,
I’m brand new to Sketch Up; have been trying to learn with the tutorials as well as mucking about with my trial SU Pro. I’m using this to do concert lighting plots. I have a new MacBook Pro 16" with more than enough speed and memory, but am still having some lagging issues. I think it’s because I’m importing all kinds of things/models (musicians, trussing, lighting fixtures) from the Warehouse. My file size is already closing in on 200MB, and I’ve barely started putting lights in the drawing. What do I need to do to make my drawings smaller? Is there some process I need to perform to make what I import smaller? If I keep adding more stuff from the Warehouse, I’m afraid the machine will totally bog down. Any advice/help will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Joel

Hi Joel

One thing I do when using any models from the Warehouse is to firstly import them into a separate new Model.

They can then be checked and cleaned up, removing anything not required, such as unnecessary details that will not be seen in your final model. Check for any hidden geometry that may be present but not required.

Some Models on the Warehouse have a very large amount of detail, modelled with many faces and edges, creating a large amounts of geometry, increasing the file size. By importing the Model into a blank new file, you can see how much detail is shown and can then eliminate what is not needed for your Model. For example, if the Light Fitting has all the screws and washers and wires in, are these really relevant or required in your Model?

Then do a Save As, saving it into a suitable location. Finally do a Purge to get rid of any redundant Layers and Styles, then a final Save.

Also make use of Components for repeated elements, such as Light Fittings, for example.

This should reduce the File Size of the Model, which can then be imported into your Model.

Mike

2 Likes

The best models are those you build yourself.