Looking for Santa Barbara, CA area Draftsperson or Architect

Hi, I’m a homeowner who’s been burned by unresponsive architects in the past (weeks/months to turn around edits), and I’m trying to control the workflow on our next project a little better.

I’m looking for an experienced SU user who can take our new property survey and create a full as-built model with proper terrain, tags (setbacks, trees, building levels), etc. I’d eventually like to use the model for different construction documentation for renovations on multiple structures, so good model management is important. I tried the remote freelancer option already, and got a bunch of deliverables I didn’t ask for.

I’m also a motivated student, so even someone who could tutor in-person would be great. I’ve been enjoying Nick Sonder’s book, but applying his methods to my project is not exactly instant gratification. :slightly_smiling_face:

Thank you for such a great community!

1 Like

Hi, I’m not exactly in Santa Barbara but close (Oxnard), if you don’t find someone local I could take a look and let you know if I can help you. I’ve been using CAD surveys for some of our work where we need better references for building clearances, easements etc.

If you do it yourself, give this plugin a try “[Plugin] Add Height from Datum • sketchUcation • 1”, it’s really helpful and time saver while working with levels.

Am not in CA … so if you want someone who can make site visits I am not your guy. Not clear what problems you had in the past with “remote freelancers” … but I do this type of work for a variety of architects, builders, remodelers and the occasional homeowner … all over the world … all without problems. Would welcome the opportunity to take a look at your project.

You are off to a great start with Nick Sonder’s book. He and Matt Donley are excellent resources … both for using SketchUp and Layout … and for organizing SketchUp and LayOut. (These are related … but distinct … topics.)