Little black dots in SketchUp Pro 2017

I rencently updated my graphics card (AMD RADEON HD 6480G). Later when I opened SketchUp, I found black dots all over the display screen. I have tried multiple solutions but none seem to work.

Before you tell me to update my graphics card, it’s already up to date. And trying to disable Acceleration in Window>Preferences>OpenGL doesn’t even work because I don’t seem to have that option. I really need some help with this.

Thanks!

PS: I have a windows 7

That is without doubt a graphics card issue.

The ability to turn off hardware acceleration was removed as of SketchUp 2017 because it is required by the current drawing implementation. You might try adjusting the Multisample anti-aliasing setting in that same preferences panel to see if that helps. It looks like maybe your display is very high-dpi? If so, don’t set the scaling to more than 150% in Windows. Higher settings can cause display issues in SketchUp.

I am not an expert on specific AMD graphics cards, so I can’t tell you whether that particular one is known to have issues with SketchUp or to have bad drivers, but that is something you should investigate. It sometimes happens that the latest driver release has issues not seen in earlier ones or that the release distributed with a graphics card is not the latest and bugs have been fixed.

Were the dots present with an older driver? If not go back to it. The latest is not always the greatest.

1 Like

“multiple solutions” carries little meaning.
Have you tried reverting to the previous driver?

Where did you get the driver? If you got it from your laptop manufacturer or through an automatic Windows update, it might be useful to visit the AMD website directly for the newest driver available from there.

The HD 6480G is not a discrete graphics card but a very much entry-level integrated graphics chip that is outperformed by even most of its Intel integrated rivals.