Linking Auto-Text between LayOut documents

Hi, I’m a newb and couldn’t find any info on linking Auto-Text between LayOut documents…

I’m using Nick Sonder’s template system from the “SketchUp & LayOut for Architecture” book as a basis for creating my own templates. I’m setting up LayOut templates for all of my future projects and would like to link common Auto-Text fields between the various templates, rather than having to edit the Auto-Text fields in each document or copy the text boxes from one template to another (18 templates…). For example, I would like to use the same project name, client name & address, etc. across a number of different documents, but I’d like to be able to only enter it once per project.

Is this possible or can anyone suggest a workaround, perhaps with external references or similar…?

Many thanks in advance!

1 Like

You can insert RTF files in text boxes–not Auto-text–then edit those and update the references as needed. You could also relink to new RTF files if you need to make changes later.

Thanks Dave, are you saying that I can link a single RTF with common fields to multiple LayOut templates, then if I copy the templates with the RTF to another folder I could change the text in the common fields and all templates would be automatically updated with the new text? That would be ideal if it’s possible…