Lines show through surfaces

modeling

I’ve been using Sketchup for 9 years now and I’m embarrased to admit I still haven’t figured out how to stop lines from showing through a surface, textured or otherwise. It’s a very annoying problem. For an example, I create a second story mezzanine with floor joist up against a 5 1/2" wall. But when I zoom out far enough, the tails of the floor joist suddenly appear through the 5 1/2" wall. Any known solution to the problem? I attached a recording of the problem. >> https://discourse-cdn-sjc1.com/sketchup/uploads/default/original/3X/4/c/4cd2cb0fbec66471ff486a0540f074405cd5eba6.mp4

That’s a graphics card/OpenGL thing. When you have thin shapes in front of others, at long enough distances they can be treated as not having thickness. The solution is to put the joists on a layer separate from the surface over them. Then turn that layer for longer views so there’s nothing to show through.

It’s common with framed roofs, too. For the long views you would turn off the layer for the trusses leaving the roofing with nothing under it to bleed through.

There are some fixes for this phenomenon, quickest is to hide the offending lines…I see that @DaveR is about to tell you how…:wink:

EDIT
There you go, I’ll just add that you can also hide the lines that show thru by selecting them directly and right clicking for hide, or as an option use the keyboard modifier for the eraser tool which also hides things.

Thanks guys. I like the adding layers idea. I’ve used the shift+eraser trick quite often but I’ve also found it to be quite inconvenient if I have something else in my model that I want to remain hidden and then I select unhide all and it screws up the delicate balance. If you know what I mean. Most of my models border on chaotic as they stand.

Yeah, while hiding the edges can take care of it for one view, if you want to show the joists without the flooring, you have to unhide those edges again.