Layout font issues

Hi there, I am new to using Layout (and this forum!) but have been a Sketchup Pro user for years.

I have recently started draughting kitchens for a designer. I draw them up and send them to her to adjust the notes. We have only done one project so far, and the issue we have is that the fonts throw out when I send her the Layout files, even though they are the same font type and size. They look fine on my computer, however when she opens them on hers the text doesn’t fit into the text box anymore and they all have to be adjusted. The way we got round this on the last project was for me to send it to her as a PDF so she can mark it up and then send any changes needed back to me to make, however this was quite time consuming. The only thing I can think of that could be causing this is that I use Windows and she uses Mac.

Has anyone else come across this issue and are there any suggestions as to how I could fix it? Thanks

Your profile indicates you are using SketchUp and LayOut on Windows. And your designer is using Mac. It’s not uncommon to see fonts in the same LO project displayed differently between the two platforms and it has to do with the different ways the two operating systems render text. What font are you using?

I think that the PDF markup thing is the best option or one of you would need to change operating systems.

Hi Dave. Yes I use Windows and the designer I send the file to uses Mac which I am guessing is the cause of the issue. We are using Calibri Light regular

Yes. Sorry. I wasn’t clear in my previous post. The operating system difference is the problem. It doesn’t happen with the PDFs because the PDF reader renders the text. (Simple way to explain it.)