Joining two complex (rounded) objects?

Hello. I’m very new to SketchUp (3 days?) but was able to search and use Help to solve most of my issues. I’ve run into a problem in trying to create a support pillar for a tube running through my model. I was able to successfully create (and union) the tube and the frame, but I’m going in circles now. I cannot figure out how to join this support strut to my complex/rounded tube.

Worse yet, I’ve now made what was a working, solid object, no longer solid. Which is pretty much the bane of my existence. It’s been 2 steps forward and 5 back.

Any help/advice in finishing this last part would be greatly appreciated!
vaportubev2.skp (1.5 MB)

At this point you could select the geometry where the tube and the frame meet, right click on it and choose Intersect Faces>With Selection. Then you could erase what you don’t want to keep.

I think I’d have been inclined to leave that bent tube as a separate component but it depends on what you plan to do with this thing once you have the model complete.

Is the tube on the top supposed to be centered on the larger cylinder?

One thing you’ve done that will create issues is you haven’t been consistent in dragging out the radii of your circles. This creates issues when vertices aren’t aligned. It’s always best when drawing circles to drag the radii out on axis.

Ideally, yes, but aligning objects in SketchUp has been an issue for me. It doesn’t need to be centered but I’ve been doing the best I can by aligning to the various axis and by eye/hand. I’m finding the UI a bit…challenging…as a n00b.

I’ll try your recommendation re: Intersect Faces and report back.

Model is in mm x10. Previous searches indicated to build big and then scale down.

Would you want to look at it together?

I agree with @DaveR that you could keep more of the parts as separate components.

And nothing is exactly centred or exactly on axis, as Dave has also just commented - is that deliberate?