Hybrid rendering lost on most files when they are reviewd

Hi, I’ve been using SketchUp 2016 Pro / Layout for around 4 months time and I can’t figure out why rarely when I reopen layout drawings, all the views from SketchUp are rendered in hybrid and most of the time they open as raster render even though they have been previously render to hybrid quality and saved.

Does anyone know of any particular reason why this is occurring? Is there a way to permanently save hybrid quality render so that when the file is reopened let’s say few months later for reviewing it stays the hybrid quality?

The reason I’m asking is because certain files have a lot of components in them and re-rendering them to hybrid quality may involve multiple hours of rendering time and that disables layout use as during rendering there is no possibility of opening another layout instance.

Any suggestions or known reason for this is much appreciated!

CAD Designer / Technician, at
Fast Form Systems

That’s an odd thing. I have never run into this before. If I render a viewport as Hybrid (or Vector) it stays that way. They haven’t changed on their own. So all of the viewports are changing to Raster> Do you ever render in Vector instead of Hybrid? If so, do those viewports change, too? Can you share a sample LO file in which this has happened?

I have never used Vector rendering so I can’t say. Only Raster and then Hybrid for final version for export to PDF. Unfortunately I can’t upload the layout file because it is too large (28,106 KB). Was going to upload the pdf version but that’s too big too (5,011 KB). But I can see the PDF is done in hybrid quality render and when I open the layout file version it’s in raster. This particular file is saved on my computer and not on server so I’m sure I was the only one to have access to as well. Sorry what do you mean by “sample LO file”?