How would you map a complex texture to a complex organic shaped model?

Hello, I’m a newbie and I’m just wondering about how texturing can be done.

Often I’ll see complex textures incorporated into a model, however you can’t just use the brush tool and paint them on, they turn out weird.

How would one go about mapping the texture correctly to a model, e.g.

As an example: Midas | Fortnite 100 Tier S12 BP Skin | - Download Free 3D model by SketchSupreme [23ca8a5] - Sketchfab

If you download this model and unzip the download, you’ll find the untextured model (source/Midas.fbx) and a series of textures that go with it (textures/*.png)

(I had to use a trial of the Skimp plugin to import this model, btw) (maybe not the best example, but I’m hoping you understand what I’m asking)

How would one go about mapping the textures to a blank, organic shaped model correctly either in Sketchup or maybe some other (free or inexpensive) app?

Thanks for clues

If your goal is to get the SketchFab model into SketchUp looking correct, you could download the glTF format file instead of the FBX version, then use this extension to add glTF import to SketchUp:

glTF Import extension

If you want to directly work with the UV mapping in the texture image, you may get somewhere with one of the UV extensions, but I don’t have any experience with any of them:

UV extensions

That model you linked to comes in at a huge size. Here it is after I had fixed the size and rotated him into a normal position.

zombiecowboy.zip (7.6 MB)

1 Like

Why not try WrapR ?
https://wrap-r.com/index.php
Full version is $69 but there’s a free trial…

1 Like

That looks interesting, but appears to be Windows only.

1 Like

Most of these models that are imported without textures still have UV mapping on their geometry.