How to import UV's into SketchUp

Hi! I am a student SketchUp creator. I am using SketchUp Make 2017 on a macOS. I use blender to uv map because it’s free, and I can’t find any other free UV mapping software for mac. There is a plugin called Wrap-R but it is for Windows only. In blender, I don’t want to export the model with the uv’s. Just the UV’s. Blender has an option to export “UV layout.” It exports that but how do I import a UV layout into SketchUp? Thanks in advance!

UV layout map exported from Blender is a PNG file, which you can insert in SketchUp (like a texture), but it is necessary to apply this texture on the unwrapped model

• if you apply it to the skp model

• applied on the imported unwrapped model

Thank you so much! I will have to try it. I’m going to do it right now. Thanks!

How do I unwrap my model? I am trying to UV map road.

A lots of tutorials about UV unwrapping on Youtube - https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=blender+2.8+unwrapping+tutorial

Thank you for all the advice! It really helped. It is easier than I thought! Thanks!

Hi, major bump on this thread! I just want to know a bit more about what’s going on here? I have a model in SKP that I’ve taken from Blender. I also have the UV map and texture from the game where I’ve taken the model from. By “imported unwrapped model” do you mean that the UV wrap has been put back together to make the 3D model, and then you’ve applied textures to it?
I am quite new at this so I appreciate your patience!

You need your model to be unwrapped an uv mapped.

1 Like

Okay so just because I have the UV map, doesn’t mean my actual model is unwrapped. I just wasn’t sure if my model was technically already unwrapped. I will give this a go!