How do I stop the shadow from a transparent png?

I’m very new to the 3D world. I’ve applied a transparent png logo to a model I made and the box of the logo casts a shadow on the model no matter how close i put it. Is there a fix for this? I’ve tried turning off shadows in entity info.

Please attach the logo’s PNG so we can see what you have.
ALL of the pixels you want to be ‘transparent’ need to have 100% transparency…

this is v-ray problem is not related with sketchup it self.
In order to have trasparent background you need to add in the alpha channel a b/w image where the black is the cut part inside the material editor of V-ray.

1 Like

Did you explode the PNG after you imported it? See comparison with the png exploded, then grouped on the left and not-exploded on the right.

3 Likes

In this case, a png as image directly on another background face, changing its property (don’t cast shadow) would have been enough. As @TIG, says, the pixels surrounding the logo should be 100% transparent.

Thank you very much! this worked. (sorry it took a while to reply, My account got put on hold for posting too fast.)

1 Like

Sorry, I actually uploaded this image yesterday but I think it was blocked.

Great and no problem. Thanks for letting us know!

The surrounding pixels are transparent !
So can I suggest you place the image in empty space, then explode the image, then edit the rectangular face to delete the outer parts.
Then save it as a component, and place an instance where you want…
Here’s an example…
CryoSafe.skp (40.3 KB)

1 Like

Thanks so much for this. I tried doing this myself by tracing the transparent areas with the line tool - then deleting. Is this not the correct way to go about this? I’m left with black lines around the logo’s border that delete the logo when I attempt to remove them.CryoSafe_logo.skp (290.1 KB)

Select just the edges and then hide them.

CryoSafe_logo.skp (333.2 KB)

1 Like

Thanks!

You’re welcome.