How do I paint a wall (with windows) only to a certain height?

I am new to SketchUp. I have tried drawing the area on the wall, whatever I do it keeps painting the entire wall. I have not grouped the walls. There is probably something very simple which I am missing…

I really appreciate any help I can get :slight_smile:

In order to apply a material to only part of a wall or other large surface you need to first divide it into smaller sections. Use the Line tool to draw edges where you want the material to stop. You can tell that you’ve got the surface divided by trying to select just one region. If the whole surface is selected, you have a gap somewhere.

paint

If you don’t want the edge to show after you’ve applied the materials, hide the edge by holding Shift while you wipe over it with the Eraser tool.

Thank you for your help, DaveR!

When I try this on a separate wall, this works indeed. But I can’t get it to work in my model (the line goes through several windows and a french door, see screenshot). I have checked for gaps, I don’t think there are any. I could make separate rectangles around the window, and fill those in, but that seems like a lot of unnecessary work…

Could it be anything else, or is there another way around it?

Thank you again, appreciate it!

I expect you aren’t getting the line actually on the wall. At least not at every point where it needs to be. Can you share the .skp file?

By the way, I see reversed faces on your stairs. Make sure you aren’t leaving exposed blue back faces as you are modeling.

Click in sequence on the Scenes tabs of this SU file for ideas.

Wall divided by a line…skp (98.2 KB)

1 Like

SureFloorplan version 1.skp|attachment (9.4 MB)

About the stairs: I didn’t realise that that was actually the back face. I actually made these following an online tutorial - will it create problems down the road?

Your attachment didn’t attach.