Why are some parts of the model paintable but not others?

Hello… I am new to Sketchup and trialling it for the Interior Design course I am doing - apologies for the rookie question!

I am creating a floor plan and have been using components - so switching between 3D and 2D. I now simply have to paint the walls black for the 2D floor plan, but my interior walls around my stairs will not let me select them and paint them. I manually created the stairs with the line tool and have noticed some have a face and some don’t - I have no idea why.

I can see my interior wall that won’t paint doesn’t have a selectable face but I don’t know why or how to fix it.

Happy to upload my model but would you want the 2D or 3D export and which format?

Thanks for any help… loving the tool so far.

The original .SKP SketchUp model file would be the most useful (rather than some exported variant of the SketchUp model).

The line tool will create faces if and only if the edges that bound the face are co-planar. The SketchUp “inference engine” makes this easy to do generally, but it is also quite possible to place end-points imprecisely, which can make a set of edges be non-co-planar. One common scenario in which unintended positioning errors occur is when length snapping is enabled (which I think may be the default, sadly). Turn it off, via the Model Info window as I recall. Without a face, a material can only be applied to the edges themselves.