I feel like an idiot... How to create a face / side?

Dear All,
I am new to Sketchup… but over the past 2 weeks I have successfully created a model of my house and I am playing around with it. We are thinking about doing an extension.

However… I am find one thing in particular extremely challenging. It is simply the creation of a Face. Let me give you an example… Attached is a picture of the model - I am unable to get the a face created in the garden to then shade in green. I have gone around each of the edges and believe they all connect… but I cannot create the face.

And then when I draw lines across it… I can some of the face created but not all… but when I delete the lines - the face goes…

Can anyone help?

Thanks

Angus

HI , to create a face all the edges have to be joined , co planer and without any edges protruding into the proposed face. Without having the file its hard to tell what your problem is. The triangles suggest that the edges are not co-planer . i would start again with the garden and erase the lines already draw, If you go to window>style>edit tab and select by axis with the drop down window at the bottom any off axis lines will show up black.

Phil

Hi Angus, I did a vid on a different subject ,but it shows what the “by axis” selection shows up
https://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&video_id=rr0_MVvPr9Q

Phil

Phil,
Apologies. I did not see your response - I thought I would be pinged an email when someone responded, assumed that no one had answered.

I could not access the video that you linked. I tried to recreate it, but not been successful. I have attached a copy of the file and I would appreciate you have a look. Overall happy to take any advice that you or others may have.

Thanks in advance

Extension v8 - Ready for Extension.skp (1.7 MB)

Hello Angus,