How do I make a hole in a model using Push/Pull

I am a novice at Sketchup and learning as I go… But there is something that I can’t quite grasp and I am wondering if I am over complicated this.

Lets say I am making a washer… I first draw a circle, and then “push” it to the thickness I want… Then i draw another circle for the ‘hole’… When I ‘pull’ this down to the edge, the circle goes a funny texture and if I select this, I get a hole.

And this works fine… BUT… I am now starting to make more complex models, and last night I struggled to “pull” a hole… I just couldn’t find a point where I could trigger this “funny” texture.

I tried pulling the hole right through the model into a tube and then using the eraser, but I could not find a way to make a hole.

Is there something obvious I am missing here?

Thanks in advance and sorry asking what I am sure is such a simple question

Jon

Hi Jon, I am thinking you cant get the face to break through when pulling from what you say . If you upload a file this will help us sort this . It may require intersecting and if so i enclose a video to help. For pushed /pulled holes, the faces *must be parallel to create a hole.

Phil

To be honest, I am not sure if I can re-create this again… I generally have no problems cutting holes this way, but last night I simply could not find the “edge” to get the texture to change to the ‘funny’ effect.

It was a very simple model which had no curves.

I just wonder if I am going about this the wrong way… Is there any other way to cut the hole… I was hoping that I could use the eraser to do it, but I kept deleting random bits of the model instead.

Jon