How do I change the length of rails for cabinet doors

I’m a newbie. By watching YouTube, I was able to sketch out some cabinets and cabinet doors. For the doors, I’m using a rail-and-stile design with a flat inner panel. I have a few different sizes of cabinets. They are all the same height, so I don’t need to adjust the stiles. I’m trying to adjust the rails. I saw a video in which Dave R (who seems to be a frequent contributor on this site) shows how to drag from left to right to select just the end of a component with a tenon and then use the push/pull tool to change the length of a runner (https://www.finewoodworking.com/2017/08/16/sketchup-resize-dont-redraw). This is exactly what I need to do for the rails. However, I can’t get it to work as shown in his video. I’m able to select only the end of the component, but when I activate the push/pull tool, the shaded/selected end becomes unselected, so I can’t pull it out to lengthen the rail.

Here is what I see when I’ve selected the end of the rail:

But, as I mentioned, when I activate the push/pull tool, it is no longer selected as shown. What am I doing wrong?

Not the pushpull tool, use the Move tool.

Uh, yep. That, of course, did it. I knew it was something simple…yet so difficult for a rookie like me. Thank you SO much for the quick reply. I sincerely appreciate it.

Another quick question. You’ll see I pulled the rail out of the door configuration because I couldn’t see the end of the rail otherwise. Is there a way to see through the stile so I can perform this size change without having to move the rail out of it’s position first?

Go View/Face style/xray

Thanks. I’m using the free online version, so I’ll have to figure out if I have that option.

Sorry I don’t think there is xray in the web version, but you can use a Section Plane to look through things.