High-school project

Hello!

I’m pretty new to SketchUp and in school we are supposed to have a final project about something. I love using SketchUp and therefore thought it would be a great idea to recreate the house I live in since I do have the blueprints for the house.

What approach do you think I should use? For example, what template should I use to start off? I used the architectural (millimeter) before for smaller projects but should I still use it when I design a big house or should I switch to meter?

All answers are appreciated!

It depends on how much detail you want to go into when you make the house down to the smallest fittings, but if thats not the case using a larger measurement is fine.

Converting your blueprints to paths and importing them is probably good idea and will save you a lot of time!

1 Like

Are you familiar with metric units or feet and inches?
See what your blueprint’s measurements are in and your best bet may be to apply the same to start with.
I can imagine they are in millimeters.
You can always change the template later.

2 Likes

Ok! Tomorrow when I get back from school I’ll check out how to convert the paths, otherwise I’ll analyse them and see what size (template) is fitting!

Great, I did not know you could change the template later. That will make things easier. I do use the metric system so I will check if I should use millimeters or meters :smiley:

To be exact, a template is just a template - what you get when you open a new blank document is a copy of your chosen template. Your new document is in no way dependent on the template used to start it, and every aspect and setting can be changed like the units you use to model. They can be changed whenever and as often you feel like it via Window menu>Model Info>Units.

2 Likes

Ok, thanks a lot!