Hidden geometry not working the same in SU2015

I have been using SU since 2008. Recently I have updated to SU2015. In previous versions, I was able to create scenes where some things were hidden in certain scenes but not others. I just tried this today with a new model, and when I hid the roof of my house in the 9th scene, all the other scenes then no longer contained the roof! I was unable to restore the roof using Unhide All (which worked in previous versions). I finally had to open the house component to unhide the roof.

Through some convoluted combination of steps that I don’t quite recall, I was able to get a scene with the roof hidden, but all the other scenes have it still showing.

Can someone explain to me what the intended behavior is for this? If I have created scenes with the roof showing and saving “Hidden Geometry” properties in each scene, then why when I hid the roof on the last scene did it become hidden on all the previous scenes?

Put the thing you want to hide on a layer and hide the layer in that scene. If you hide the geometry it is actually hidden.

1 Like

I don’t think this behavior is new to 2015. You can save the value of the view->hidden geometry flag with a scene by checking the box on the scenes window, but you can not save the current hidden/visible setting of individual entities. As @Box wrote, use layers if you want granular control of visibility instead of global.

you can not save the current hidden/visible setting of individual entities.

Maybe that’s the way SketchUp is designed to work - I don’t know. But if you look again at what I wrote: “I was able to get a scene with the roof hidden, but all the other scenes have it still showing.” You can see that SketchUp is not working the way that you say.