HELP! I have somehow got lost in my drawing, zoom extents won't work!

Hi, i am extremely new to SketchUp as well as new to this forum. I am desperate for some help as i have somehow lost my Work.

I have used Zoom extents before to relocate to my drawing but now this wont work. I can’t even seem to find the horizon. All i can see is blank space. Annoyingly i am towards the end of the project so to lose all those hours of work would be a nightmare.

I hope someone can help or might have had a similar experience?

Thank you so much in advance.

Very likely you have some little scrap of something situated at a great distance from the rest of the model. Share the .skp file so we can see what you’ve really got going on and help you fix it.

1 Like

Hi Dave, thanks for reaching out, i really appreciate it.

It’s telling me that the file type is too big to upload. It’s 88MB? Surely thats not too big?

Your profile information is rather contradictory so I don’t know if this would work for you: Open the Outliner, select an object that you know is in your model and select Zoom Selection from the context menu. Getting rid of stray objects in outer space is of course a priority.

Upload the file to DropBox or WE Transfer and share the link.

You can share via a cloud service (dropbox, Google Drive, WeTransfer etc…) and post the link here.

Here is the link:

When you hit ‘Ctrl+A’, does it select anything?

If so, it could be as DaveR says, some scrap far away from the model you were working on and you need to clean your workspace.
If you are sertain your model is near the ‘Origin’ (0,0,0), you could ‘zoom extend’ and then zoom out even further. then select an area you are sertain your model is not situated at. Keep an eye on your ‘Entity info’ window to see if you have selected anything. If so, and you are sure it is not part of your model, delete it and try ‘zoom extend’ again.
su zoom extend lost model

If not, your workspace is probably empty and the model got lost somehow.