Help! Can't open my urgent 3D model, crashes instantly!

My 3D model was progressively getting slower and starting to crash.
Its over 200MB and after a bit of research (Im still a bit of a newbie) I realised I need to purge unused items. But now I can’t even open it and it just crashes as soon as I try to. I updated my graphics drivers and reinstalled the program but still no luck.

Can someone please try to help me? I need to present to my client next week and I’ve been working on it for weeks! Ive uploaded via web and it does open but then crashes and I cant see what needs purging. Ive put a link to the file here.

marendoli-floorplan-3D.skp

I’ll see what I can do.

1 Like

Thank you!

I was able to open your file. My guess is your graphics card is not up to the task. You’re right about needing to purge the file. I did my standard cleanup procedure. First I fixed incorrect tag usage.
Screenshot - 6_28_2024 , 11_37_08 AM
Then I purged unused content. There was a lot of unused stuff in your model.
Screenshot - 6_28_2024 , 11_37_56 AM
I also resized a few excessively large texture images. This cleanup reduced the file size by about one-third but more could be done.

You have used a lot of images, though, and many of them are much larger than they need to be. You also have many overly detailed components from the 3D Warehouse. This is a common thing for new users. I would suggest going throught the model and either simplify components or replace them with simpler ones.

You also have quite a bit of geometry with exposed back faces. I’ve edited the back face color to make those exposed back faces more visible. If you plan to make any renders from this model you’ll definitely want to fix those. I’ll upload the file and come back with a link shortly.

BTW, this is a funny image.