Formal (classroom) training, (Adult, Continuing Education)

I have been playing with SketchUp for over 5 years (back to when it was owned by Google). I have learned enough to do a few very simple projects. With the grandkids (all 6 of them) doing online schooling or limited face-to-face, I crave that experience with SketchUp !

I have taken most of the online tutorials, but they are just not fulfilling. I am sure my technique are poor nor do I even know the “best practices” of drawings (where do you put dimensions so that they do not obscure the drawing itself ?)

How do I find such a class ?

Does your area have a continuing or adult ed program and do that have anyone teaching SketchUp? I used to do that in our local adult ed program but decided I prefer one on one instruction because I can tailor it to the student. Most of my instruction is done online with screen sharing. These days, what with social distancing and all that, it’s nearly all online for me.

What version of SketchUp are you using? Please complete your forum profile.

This is something I’ve been thinking about lately - tutorials on YouTube are great for people with a certain learning style, but I think a lot of people are looking for more of a weekly lesson with homework type of learning, rather than just some guy talking to them on YouTube.

I’m working on a solution for this where people can actually get real feedback and interact online in addition to watching tutorials, but I haven’t 100% dialed in the format yet.

Do you think that what you’re really struggling with with existing resources is the lack of interaction with an instructor, lack of interaction with a class of people, or lack of a structured learning format? Or maybe all of the above?