"Active" tutorials for SketchUp? SketchUp "overlay" tutorial?

Greetings. I’m a complete newbie to SU, and to all things CAD, rendering, etc. I’m tired of trying to draw things in MS Paint and Powerpoint, and want to give SU a try.

I did watch the online “official” video tutorials on the SU main web site, and they give a good sense of what I may eventually be able to do with the program–very motivational. But as an instructional tool, they are a bit clunky to me: Run the video, hit “pause”, open SU, try to replicate what I just saw (don’t explore anything new or it’s a risk of wrecking the ongoing drawing and then you are off the rails concerning the video tutorial’s project), toggle back to the video and watch a bit more, etc.
Surely there’s a “live” tutorial of some kind that runs >on top of< SU, maybe with an audio track and some visual assists showing you where to move the cursor, an occasional callout text box to tell you if you need a left click, use the scroll wheel to do something else, etc. Creating a few drawings with this sort of handholding would be a big boost for a newbie.
I did try just playing with Sketchup, but there are so many interdepenencies/complex functions (“do this >while< doing that”) that it’s not an especially good way to learn for a brand-new person. Once I figure out the basics, I’m sure that will be a good approach.
So, is there somewhere I can find “Sketchup for Dummies” live software tutorials, or something similar? Thanks for any leads.
Thanks,

I don’t know of any “overlay”, “live” tutorials like you describe. There are "self-paced tutorial"s available through the 3D Warehouse. Look for the ones from SketchUp.

Example:

You might also find a community education class or you can get someone such as myself to do live online training.

DaverR,
Thanks, I’ll poke around the 3D Warehouse (I thought that was just a repository for importable graphic elements, etc).