Is there a start-up option somewhere to avoid SU from opening a new, blank model upon program start-up? Although a relatively minor annoyance, I would like to avoid the step of deleting the model when, as is usual, I intend to open an existing model to work on.
When you launch the SketchUp app it initially uses your default template.
You can set that template up in Preferences - you own default personalized template can have as much or as little data associated with it, as you choose…
If you open an existing SKP model file it should open in the SketchUp app.
If you are within SketchUp already, and then choose to open another SKP, then you should get a dialog from which you can choose an existing SKP file…
I have a somewhat similar problem with SU Pro 2018. If I quit SketchUp (or if a BugSplat quits the program for me), I get the “Start Using SketchUp” screen. In earlier versions, there was a button labeled “don’t show this again,” which let me open SU right to my default template. But that “don’t show” button seems to be missing from 2018. I’d love to see it come back.
Oops. You’re right.
Maybe @davidheim1 is still in trial mode and hasn’t entered his licence. Is the “Always Show on Startup” checkbox there on the trial?