Easiest way to make organic shapes in SketchUp

Hi,

I am a garden designer trying to make organic 2D shapes in SketchUp 2019 eg lakes, planting beds, meadows, example image attached.

I’ve tried using Bezier curves but not managed to make a joined up shape, just a line. I’ve read about Bezier Spline but that doesn’t seem to be available anymore. Do I need an extension or is there an easy way to do this?

I am a new SketchUp user.

I have been looking online for a while and just can’t figure this out! Any help appreciated.

Many thanks
Jo

Bezier Spline is alive and well and available from Sketchucation and it would be a good tool for outlining shapes like these. SketchUp’s native tools aren’t well suited for drawing shapes like them. LayOut’s drawing tools could be used and then you could export the shapes in a DXF file that you’d import into SketchUp. I’d start with Bezier Spline.

Here I traced one of your shapes using the Catmull Spline tool from the Bezier Spline tools set.
Screenshot%20-%205_20_2019%20%2C%206_50_14%20AM

4 Likes

Ahhh I see…! I was looking in the extension warehouse. Seriously thank you for this- life saver.

1 Like

Yes. Not all extensions are hosted in the Extension Warehouse. In fact there are quite a few that aren’t.

See the image I added to my previous post.

1 Like

Got it - thank you :slight_smile: Just about to give it a go.

Next step will be forming 3D mounds of earth like the image attached. Any pointers on that?

You could look at the Sandbox tools and Vertex Tools. The former is a native tool set. Vertex Tools is an extension from the Extension Warehouse.

Are these mounds existing and do they have contours drawn from a survey or are you pulling them out of your hat?

1 Like

All from my imagination.

I have got sandbox but never used. I will check out Vertex.

This is the first time I am using curves in any of my designs - I have been dreading it!

1 Like

Think of it as a new adventure! :smiley:

3 Likes