Do you have a quality standard for Revit files?

I work as an inhouse visualizer for an architectural firm. The usual workflow is to import Revit files via the Simlab plugin to SketchUp, fix them, add context and entourage and then render images with Enscape.

I have been struggling with a file for a rather large building, it comes into SketchUp as 20000 objects and crashes when I try to render in Enscape. The (exported) error report from Revit is nearly 2000 lines, which seems to imply that there are issues with almost 10 % of the geometry. Usually I am able to fix things within SketchUp, but it is really a stupid way to work, as I have to repeat it in the next revision. It also uses my allotted time to fix other peoples mistakes, making the visualization process more expensive than it should be, thus making me less competetive.

The question I have is how many errors or bad modeling in the Revit file do you forum readers accept, and can you really demand that the architects “clean up their own mess” before sending it off to visualization (or other services)?
Do you all get clean, perfect models from your architects, or do you have some sort of quality description/minimum standard for the files you work with? If that is the case, does anyone have the opportunity to share such a description with me?

Earlier, they only messed things up in 2 dimensions, but there is an awful lot more that can go wrong i 3D…

Hmm. My guess is that if you get an error message in Revit there is something wrong with the Simlab exporter or its settings. I wouldn’t know how to create geometry in Revit that would appear OK inside it but be faulty when exported.
The other side of the coin is that as revit is a solid/NURBS based modelling system, it doesn’t run into the small face problem that SketchUp does, but if the exporter doesn’t know how to handle, for instance, small rounded corners in objects, the resulting SketchUp model might have tiny faces that refuse to fill.