curviLoft help from square profile to circle profile

attached is a file with a square base and a circle above it. I tried to loft between them to make a tappered conical type shape and the loft gets all twisted. Im still learning this extension.

loft practice.skp (292.2 KB)

thanks

Try doing one quarter at a time:

Curviloft/Skin contours

Accept the result:

Rotate/copy three times:

Hide or soften the hard lines, and remove the extra quadrant edges on the top and bottom surfaces.

1 Like

ok, so i need to skin it rather than just loft it. I was trying to move the vertex points around during the loft opperation and it became messy even faster haha. Its intersting how some lofts work but others dont

For myself, I most often use the Skin Contours option in Curviloft, and rarely try the other Loft options.

But you need to make sure the ‘contour’ to be skinned is a continuous single curve with no gaps and no forks or stray short lines - the Skin Contours then fails.

If this is what you were wanting to do, please mark my post as the Solution.

1 Like

that is what i wanted. thank you:) i am now going to try the skining feature with more spline type rails

did you draw lines from the circle down to the sqaure

Yes - radial lines top and bottom to split the top and bottom perimeters to create a quarter, then two lines top to bottom - shown selected in orange in the image you posted back.

1 Like

You already have the guides, why not use them.
Split

1 Like

yup, this is how i did it:) I used the guides. Just wasnt sure if the other poster drew lines down or how it was done. I was hoping the loft feature was going to work the same way. I have used the skinning feature once now with this example and partially with a mask example.

Or…
Or

1 Like

thats a nifty feature. kind of like follow me but for lofts.

Yes, it allows you to tell it what path to take between faces.
Along path

3 Likes