Creating a Planting Plan Easily in Layout

I am a landscape designer/architect. Currently I do my planting plans in SketchUp Layout and my method is tedious and not time effective. Does anyone have a great process or suggestions for a good workflow? Thanks.

That’s not much for us to go on - perhaps you could elaborate on your workflow and why you think it is tedious and not time effective…?

Agreed w/ @PaulMcAlenan . Please share a bit more about your process so we can better help identify specific solutions for you.
I’ll start by asking some questions:

1. Do you use CAD at all or only SU and LayOut?
  2. Do you show your planting designs in 3D w/ SketchUp or only in 2D?
  3. What kind of LayOut packages/projects are you working on? ie residential construction documents? etc…
  4. Do you have any project examples that you can share in addition to describing your process?

That was a little vague :joy: Sorry - . I currently only use SketchUp. I do create 3D models but they are separate of my plan that I use for the dimensioning and planting plan. Here’s an example of a plan. I bring the pictures of the plants in individually and label, I have the table of plant data. It is very time consuming. I want the client to have all the information but need to automate it. Even labeling the plants. I am the antithesis of organized and efficient​:joy:

Sample Planting Plan.pdf (1.3 MB)

A Sketchup or Layout file could be more useful than a PDF, if you can share one.

Into LayOut you mean? Do you use Scrapbooks? When you say images, are you referring to the plant symbols themselves? They look like CAD blocks to me. What format are they in (ie PNG, EPS, DWG, etc)? Can you provide at least some screenshots of your SketchUp model and LayOut file?

Here’s a link to the actual SketchUp File. Thanks for your help!

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ntoozwsTShzTa5OZxpG4ANoJr0bVRy4F/view?usp=sharing