Create planting plan from model

I use Sketchup Pro on Mac (OS Catalina) to do my landscape architecture design. I want to be able to do a simple 2D planting plan, akin to a CAD version. Is there some software that can take my 3D model and allow me to create a planting plan with areas for listing plants and sizes and numbered circles for each? Something I could hand the contractor and he could do the entire job without me? Something like this:
c6930690940effffa3d690267512a058

1 Like

Seems like a thing you would do with LayOut using plan views of the planting model from SketchUp.

yes, you would think but I can’t find any tutorial on the web for it. Have searched before and nothing.

Have you tried this as a starting point?
https://learn.sketchup.com/track/sketchup-landscape-site-design

2 Likes

Hi @kipwood - My background is landscape architecture as well and I’ve been looking for solutions that reduce the dependency on CAD, similar to your request above. Here is an example where I embeded CAD symbols inside of a SketchUp plant component…laid out my planting plan…then set up a scene with a plan view for export and annotation in LayOut. Since I don’t do planting plans professionally anymore, I haven’t been able to test the practicality of the process but in theory, I think it’s sound.

Let me know if you have any questions about the process.

190829_SLC_PARK_PA_11x17_DRAFT_Page_1

Alternatively, if you have CAD you can look into something like LandFX that has an integration plugin to go back and forth between the two programs.

*Edit: just wanted to followup about plant take offs/quantities. Two easy ways to do this - assuming the plant components have been named properly of course.

1. Use Selection Toys extension to select all of the same component instances and then add a text callout inside of SketchUp (can be done in LayOut as well).