Crashes when exporting to .DWG or .DXF

I have a file which will not export as DWG or DXF, sketch up crashes before the export is complete.

I get a bugsplat when I reopen the sketch up file to repeat.

It was a large file (12mb) but even if i delete almost all of the file the export is still a problem.

I have been successful with other files on the same computer. The file did contain models from sketchup warehouse, but I have since deleted those…

Help.

I’m using macbook pro.

Could you share the .skp file so we can see what you are working with? Are you exporting a 2D or 3D dxf/dwg file?

Hi DaveR, I’m trying to open a sketchup file in Rhino3d. So exporting .skp file as a 3D DWG or DXF.

Could you tell me how to share the file on this forum? I’m new to it and can’t see how to upload files here.

Thanks!

You can use the upload button at the top of the window there you type your message (upward pointing arrow) or you can just drag and drop the file into your reply.

[v4.7GrassMarket GROUND .skp|attachment](upload
v4.7GrassMarket GROUND .skp (12.5 MB)
://fXay0VryAdDVZGqkhL1Snidmlhc.skp) (12.5 MB)

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!

Wow! That’s an ancient model. Did you make that? The style it uses hasn’t been around for more than a decade.

The model is quite a distance from the origin.

I moved it closer to the origin and corrected the incorrect tag usage.
Screenshot - 1_17_2022 , 8_12_35 AM

And purged the unused stuff. Lots of unused materials bloating the file.
Screenshot - 1_17_2022 , 8_12_54 AM

After that I exported the .dxf successfully on my PC.
v4.zip (12.9 MB)

See if you can export a dxf from it now.
v4.7GrassMarket GROUND purged .skp (10.8 MB)

Hi Dave,