Copy-Paste to different files causes misalignment

I have been using Sketchup for 15 years and have always copied and pasted from one file to another, and in each file the copied elements end up in the exact same place file to file. This is especially helpful with large models by allowing you to work with smaller segments in separate files, then simply copy the modified object back into the master model. I always purge the master model of components before copying the edited object back in, and, if textures or layer names have been modified, I’ll purge any of those that are unused in the master model too.
On more complex models with lots of components, I will create a reference register mark that allows quick verification that I’m pasting to the proper place and that I have not accidently moved or rotated something (Sketchup’s easy editing interface takes constant discipline to not inadvertently modify something…) I create a lot of my 2D work in AutoCAD, and scaled drawings and registers even transfer easily between the two programs.

My latest project’s site model (the master model) is quite large and consists of a main house and an ADU/cottage. The house is divided into three files and the cottage is a separate file. All the separate files have their models in the same location relative to the default axis. Within those models, the axis is re-set relative to the object being worked on. When I copy the various house parts back into the model, they all are shifted to various degrees by no more than 3/8".