Considering New Mac Laptop...Layout Concern

Hi,
I have a MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2017) which was top of the line back then…I am considering purchasing a new top of the line MacBook Pro. I am concerned because I keep hearing how Layout is really slow, which it is on a
Mac. Will I notice any “significant” speed increase in Layout with a new top of the line MacBook Pro? I am a designer for the film unit at SNL, not the live show, I design all the fake music videos and fake commercials so speed is super important with our crazy schedule. What bogs me down currently in Layout is the zooming in and out and panning around a page. It is painful. Any constructive input is appreciated. Thank you!

1 Like

Some maybe but not much is the likely answer.

Layout is hobbled by its rendering abilities which do not take advantage of multiprocessors. So you always use a single thread, whatever the demand.

If you work with very heavy files, this could make using LO untenable. There are people here who very carefully control what they show and have their LO settings low, all to get around the basic problem that people want (expect, even) Tesla performance from a capable, but limited family car. You can apply go-faster stripes and spoilers to the family car but it ain’t never going to catch the Tesla.

Agree with Simon,