Top of Line MacBook Pro & Layout 2020 Still Very Slow-Almost Unusable

Just set up my brand new top MacBook Pro…top the line, can’t but a faster MacBook and when I use my scroll wheel to zoom in using LO it is just as slow as my older MacBook Pro. I see lots of complaining about Layout 2020 and I have to agree it’s almost unusable. LO 2018 doesn’t have this issue at all. I am a designer at SNL and we don’t have very large sets so my models are not very large either. Any suggestions and when will this issue be addressed? Thanks! Ken

2 Likes

@krm208, welcome to the Layout Issue Fan Club. Hope your frustration is just starting to peak as the more the merrier on this issue. More noise equals more chance of a fix.

Part of another thread on the same issue. One user wrote this:

“I’ve posted a couple times (and had a few conversations with Colin) about LO2020 performance. I use a completely maxed out 2019 MacBook Pro w/Catalina. The LO performance issue is NOT the hardware. Something was changed when they re-wrote LO2020, and it seems to have everything to do with the way layout treats the SketchUp objects in viewports.”

As to a fix? Haven’t heard a date or release for that. Mostly why I’m commenting because I want to follow this one in case someone comments.

other thread link…Layout to Slow

There have been lots of posts about the shortcomings of Layout. I think most people agree that it is now letting the side down. If it doesn’t get fixed once everyone has been moved to a subscription basis, I suspect the grumbling will become deafening.

Your hardware makes almost no difference to LO performance, so if you upgraded expecting it to, I sympathize. At least it should make a difference to SU (really flies on my new iMac!).